[adrotate group=”27″]

Representative Contact Information

City Commission

The City Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. The meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. All meetings are held in the Commission Chambers on the third floor at City Hall. Anyone wishing to address the Commission about concerns regarding an item that is not on the agenda can do so by signing up prior to the meeting to speak under Citizens Forum.
If you would like to attend a Commission meeting and need foreign language or sign language interpretation or any other type of reasonable accommodation, please notify City Clerk Denise Duerksen at least three business days in advance.

Newton Mayor Rich Stinnett


Newton Vice Mayor Clint McBroom


Newton City Commissioner Leroy Koehn


Newton City Commissioner Rod Kreie


Newton City Commissioner Kathy Valentine


You may also contact any of our city commissioners by phone at (316) 284-6001.




Harvey County Commission

  • 1st District Commissioner George A “Chip” Westfall
  • 2nd District Commissioner Randy Hague
  • 3rd District Commissioner Don Schroeder

Commission Meetings – 9 a.m. every Monday unless otherwise noted in agenda

Location – Commission Room on the first floor of the Harvey County Courthouse
At these meetings, the County Commissioners have the opportunity to hear public concerns, as well as vote on county policies, regulations, etc. It is the job of the Board of Harvey County Commissioners to decide overall policy for Harvey County, to determine the annual budget, to determine overall long-range plans for Harvey County, to hire and fire nonelected Department Heads and to manage County property.

The Harvey County Commissioners are responsible for appointing members of certain county boards such as the Regional Planning Commission, the Council on Aging, the Parks Advisory Board and several others. These citizen advisory boards provide important input to the Commission to aide in policy and decision making.
The County Commission also does other tasks required by statutes or required by County business. The three member Commission is elected by districts in Harvey County for four-year terms.


USD # 373 Board of Education

Morton, Mallory – Board President

Schreiber, Melissa – Board VP

Becker, Angela

Edwards, Luke

Ortiz, Andy

Steinmetz, Dayna

Treaster, Matt


USD 373 Mission

The mission of the Newton school community is to prepare our students to be capable, contributing participants in a changing world.


USD 373 District Belief Statements
We believe that: the educational needs of each student must be met. the needs of students must drive decision-making. education is an active partnership involving students, families, schools and community. motivation, opportunity and effort are critical to success. high expectations foster quality performance. the right to education conveys both privilege and responsibility.


USD 373 District Goals

Student Learning: USD 373 will provide all staff with the resources necessary to assist all students in acquiring essential social and academic skills for success.
Human Resources: USD 373 will recruit, support and retain quality personnel in every staff position in the school district.

Technology Utilization: USD 373 will support appropriate technologies as both a means of managing data and expanding student learning.
Funding: USD 373 will advocate for adequate and equitable school funding both within the school district and throughout the state of Kansas.

Parent and Community Relationships: USD 373 will build positive parent and community relationships to increase educational opportunities for all students and promote vital economic development throughout the school district.
Approved by BOE 4-18-11

House District 72

Rep. Avery Anderson

R- Newton

Mailing address:

State House Room: 176-W

Kansas House of Representatives

Topeka, KS 66612

Phone: (785)296-2361

Email: avery.anderson@house.ks.gov

Website: www.kslegislature.org


House District 74

Rep. Stephen Owens

Phone (785)296-7500

Email: stephen.owens@house.ks.gov

Website: www.kslegislature.org


Senate District 31

Carolyn McGinn


Mailing Address:

State House Room:545-S

Kansas Senate

Topeka, KS 66612

Phone: (785)296-7377

Email: Carolyn.McGinn@senate.ks.gov

Website: www.kslegislature.org


Governor Laura Kelly

Office of the Governor

State Capital

300 S.W. 10th Ave. Suite 2415

Topeka, KS 66612

Phone: (785)296-3232

Website: www.governor.ks.gov


The Kansas Legislature consists of a 125-member House of Representativesand a 40-member Senate. Representatives are elected for a two-year term and Senators are elected for a four-year term. The Legislature convenes on the second Monday in January for an annual session and generally adjourns in early May. During the interim period joint and special committees meet to discuss issues assigned to them by Legislative leadership or by statute. The Legislature is supported by five non-partisan staff agencies: Kansas Legislative Research Department, Revisor of Statutes, Legislative Administrative Services, Office of Information Services and, Legislative Division of Post Audit. In addition, the offices of the Chief Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate are responsible for the operations of the respective chambers under the direction of elected leadership. The general public can access the legislative process through its elected Senators and Representatives or through participation in committee activity.

This website provides the information needed to contact Senators and Representatives; track the status and content of a bill; read supplementary reports and publications; find out what is happening in the chambers or committees; and look at the current statutes. A live audio broadcast of the Houseand Senate chambers allows the public to listen to debate on bills and issues. Information about the chambers, committees, or individual legislators can be found using the appropriate tabs at the top of this page. During the Session, House and Senate Calendars provide information about business to be considered in the chambers and a weekly agenda of committee meetings. TheJournals are the historical record of activity in the chambers. Information regarding the status or content of bills and the content of the laws can be found under the Bills and Laws tab.

In addition to the website, the public can access a variety of information by calling the Legislative Hotline at 1.800.432.3924 (in-state) or 785.296.2149 (out-of-state). The hotline is a free service provided by the State Library of Kansas. Librarians are available by instant message chat at www.kslib.info/ask-a-librarian or text questions to 785.256.0733 (standard text message rates may apply).

House of Representatives

Tracey Mann, 1st District – Web Site
Washington: (202) 225-2715
Salina: (785) 829-9000

Jake LaTurner, 2nd District – Web Site
Washington: (202) 225-6601
Topeka: (785) 234-5966

Sharice Davids, 3rd District – Web Site
Washington: (202) 225-2865
Kansas City: (913) 621-0832

Ron Estes, 4th District – Web Site
Washington: (202) 225-6216
Wichita: (316) 262-8992



Jerry Moran Web Site
Washington: (202) 224-6521
Hays: (785) 628-6401

Roger Marshall  Web Site
Washington: (202) 224-4774
Dodge City: (620) 227-2244


Joe Biden
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20500
Website: www.whitehouse.gov