City Commission

The City Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. The meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. All meetings are held in the Commission Chambers on the third floor at City Hall. Anyone wishing to address the Commission about concerns regarding an item that is not on the agenda can do so by signing up prior to the meeting to speak under Citizens Forum.
If you would like to attend a Commission meeting and need foreign language or sign language interpretation or any other type of reasonable accommodation, please notify City Clerk Denise Duerksen at least three business days in advance.

Newton Mayor Leroy Koehn



Newton Vice Mayor Rich Stinnett



Newton City Commissioner Clint McBroom



Newton City Commissioner Rod Kreie



Newton City Commissioner Kathy Valentine






Harvey County Commission

  • 1st District Commissioner George A “Chip” Westfall
  • 2nd District Commissioner Randy Hague
  • 3rd District Commissioner Ron Krehbiel

Commission Meetings – 9 a.m. every Monday unless otherwise noted in agenda

Location – Commission Room on the first floor of the Harvey County Courthouse
At these meetings, the County Commissioners have the opportunity to hear public concerns, as well as vote on county policies, regulations, etc. It is the job of the Board of Harvey County Commissioners to decide overall policy for Harvey County, to determine the annual budget, to determine overall long-range plans for Harvey County, to hire and fire nonelected Department Heads and to manage County property.

The Harvey County Commissioners are responsible for appointing members of certain county boards such as the Regional Planning Commission, the Council on Aging, the Parks Advisory Board and several others. These citizen advisory boards provide important input to the Commission to aide in policy and decision making.
The County Commission also does other tasks required by statutes or required by County business. The three member Commission is elected by districts in Harvey County for four-year terms.


USD # 373 Board of Education

Becker, Angela

Budde, Jennifer

Jantz, Allen

Richards, Steve

Stayrook Hobbs, Carol Sue

Treaster, Matt

Tyner, Toby


USD 373 Mission

The mission of the Newton school community is to prepare our students to be capable, contributing participants in a changing world.


USD 373 District Belief Statements
We believe that: the educational needs of each student must be met. the needs of students must drive decision-making. education is an active partnership involving students, families, schools and community. motivation, opportunity and effort are critical to success. high expectations foster quality performance. the right to education conveys both privilege and responsibility.


USD 373 District Goals

Student Learning: USD 373 will provide all staff with the resources necessary to assist all students in acquiring essential social and academic skills for success.
Human Resources: USD 373 will recruit, support and retain quality personnel in every staff position in the school district.

Technology Utilization: USD 373 will support appropriate technologies as both a means of managing data and expanding student learning.
Funding: USD 373 will advocate for adequate and equitable school funding both within the school district and throughout the state of Kansas.

Parent and Community Relationships: USD 373 will build positive parent and community relationships to increase educational opportunities for all students and promote vital economic development throughout the school district.
Approved by BOE 4-18-11